2010 Stanley Cup: Chicago Blackhawks Win Title

The Chicago Blackhawks have won the 2010 Stanley Cup title, winning game 6 against the Philadelphia Flyers in Philadelphia on Wednesday, June 9.

Winning game 6 was no cakewalk for the Blackhawks. The game went into overtime, where Patrick Kane scored the winning goal. The final score was 4-3 and the Blackhawks won their first championship since 1961.

Chicago Blackhawks player Dustin Byfuglien scored the first goal of the night, assisted by Jonathan Toews and Patrick Kane. Patrick Sharp scored one goal, assisted by Dave Bolland and Duncan Keith and Andrew Ladd scored one goal, assisted by Niklas Hjalmarsson and Patrick Kane. Patrick Kane scored the winning goal for the Blackhawks in overtime, assisted by Brian Campbell.

Scott Harnell made the first goal for the Philadelphia Flyers, assisted by Danny Briere and Chris Pronger. Danny Briere scored one goal, assisted by Villa Leino and Lukas Krajicek. Scott Harnell made the last goal for the Flyers, tying up the game and taking it into overtime. Villa Leino and Danny Briere assisted in that final goal.

Patrick Kane will go down as scoring one of the biggest goals in team history thanks to his winning shot Wednesday night.

“I knew it went in right away,” Kane said. “What a feeling. I can’t believe it. We just won the Stanley Cup. I can’t believe this just happened. … It’s something you dream about, scoring the final goal in the Stanley Cup finals.”

The Philadelphia Flyers’ goalie Micahel Leighton stopped 37 shots Wednesday night, but not the last one.

“I went to the corner and saw a guy drive the net,” Leighton said. “I thought he was going to pass it but he threw it at my feet and it went underneath me.”

The Philadelphia Flyers have not won the Stanley Cup since winning consecutive championships in 1974 and 1975.

“In the long run, everybody should be proud with what we did this year,” Flyers forward Jeff Carter said. “We overcame a lot of adversity. The guys should be proud of what we accomplished.”

“There’s so many great things about winning a Stanley Cup. This is it,” Jonathan Toews of the Blackhawks said. “This is the best feeling you can ever get. I just can’t believe it’s happened.”

Chicago Blackhawks player Jonathan Toews won the Conn Smythe Trophy as playoff MVP.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks



You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment