World Cup 2010: Mexico, Greece, Argentina Win

The FIFA World Cup 2010 continued Thursday, June 17 in South Africa. Matches featured Argentina vs Korea, Greece vs Nigeria and France vs Mexico.

Argentina came out with a win today, scoring four goals to Korea’s one goal.

Gonzalo Higuaín scored three of the four Argentina goals. Park Chu-Young scored one of the four for Argentina. Lee Chung-Yong scored the one Korea goal.

“I have to congratulate the players … everything they did worked out well,” Argentina coach Diego Maradona said. “I am very happy.”

Greece beat Nigeria, 2-1. This is Greece’s first World Cup win ever.

“We badly wanted this, because we’d never even scored a goal in the World Cup before,” Dimitrios Salpingidis of the Greece team said. “I can’t say whether we’ll make it out of the group. But I can say that we’ll leave with our heads held high.”

Dimitrios Salpingidis and Vasilis Torosidis scored the two goals for Greece. Kalu Uche scored the one goal for Nigeria.

Mexico defeated France 2-0.

Javier Hernández and Cuauhtémoc Blanco, both substitutes, scored the two goals for Mexico.

Cuauhtémoc Blanco is the third-oldest player to score in a World Cup at 37 years, 151 days.

Tomorrow, June 18, 2010, the matches will be: Germany vs Serbia, Slovenia vs United States and England vs Algeria.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks



You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment