World Cup 2010: Portugal, Chile and Spain Win

The FIFA World Cup 2010 continued Monday, June 21 in South Africa. Matches featured were Portugal vs Korea, Chile vs Switzerland and Spain vs Honduras.

Portugal beat Korea with a staggering 7-0 win.

Tiago scored 2 of the 7 goals for Portugal. Other goal contributors were Raul Meireles, Simão, Hugo Almeida, Liédson and Cristiano Ronaldo.

“It was a great day for Portugal and Portuguese football,” Portugal coach Carlos Queiroz said

“The players are really happy with the way they played, the attitude for the game, the beautiful football, the beautiful goals.”

Chile won, beating Switzerland 1-0.

Mark González scored the winning goal for Chile.

“This is for my family and for all the people who have supported us in Chile,” Mark Gonzalez of Chile said. “This was a great moment for me and for our team.”

Spain beat Honduras, winning 2-0.

David Villa of Spain scored their two goals.

“We think this first group is very difficult and we have a tough game against Chile,” David Villa said. “Being world champions is a long way down the road, there’s a long time to go, and many matches as well.”

Matches on Tuesday, June 22 include Mexico vs Uruguay, France vs South Africa, Nigeria vs South Korea and Greece vs Argentina.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks



You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment