Spain Wins 2010 FIFA World Cup

Spain won the 2010 FIFA World Cup championship on Sunday, July 11 in South Africa against the Netherlands.


Cesc Fabregas / Photo Credit:

The one and only goal of the game came in the 116th minute by Andrés Iniesta of Spain. The only goal being scored with just 7 minutes left in the game made for a nail-biting match.

“When I struck it, it just had to go in,” Iniesta said.

This championship game broke the record for number of yellow cards given in a finals match, with 14 yellow cards being handed out.

Despite winning every game leading up to the championship match, the Netherlands accepted runner-up medals. The Netherlands now has more victories in World Cup games without a title than any nation.

Germany beat Uruguay on Saturday, July 10, winning 3-2 and taking third place in the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

Thomas Müller, Marcell Jansen and Sami Khedira scored the three goals for Germany. Edinson Cavani and Diego Forlán scored the two goals for Uruguay.

“We had hoped for more, and we did everything for it,” Sami Khedira of Germany said. “This was some kind of final and we did everything for it.

“We have a young team and set an exclamation mark here and can reach more.”

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks



You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment